The Agonist – In Vertigo



Napalm Records

Release: June 7, 2019


On June 7th, Canadian melodic death metal outfit The Agonist have released the music video for “In Vertigo”. The single is taken from the band’s upcoming album, titled “Orphans”, set for release on September 20 via Napalm Records / Rodeostar Records. This will be the band’s sixth studio offering and the third with vocalist Vicky Psarakis.


Commenting on the new album frontwoman Vicky Psarakis stated the following: “When I heard the first instrumentals for ‘Orphans’ I was a bit shocked and confused. The music was really dark and heavier than anything we've done in previous albums and I wasn't quite sure how I'd be able to match that emotion. But then you know all it took was writing one full song to get the ball rolling and 2-3 months later everything was done!”


And true enough, “In Vertigo” is a monster of a track that features fast-paced guitars, hard-hitting drums, relentless double bass, and even some symphonic elements that give the song a certain cinematic atmosphere. If the instrumental in itself is pretty brutal and swirling, it’s the vocal layering that really gets you hooked, and Vicky plays with different styles that range from deep growls, to (almost) operatic, to beautiful cleans, making it a testament to her vocal prowess. I have to say that the backing operatic chants that at time overlap with growls give the song so much depth and complexity, adding melody and texture to the dense riffages coming from Danny Marino and Pascal Jobin’s guitars and to Simon McKay’s intense drumming.

 Commenting further, Vicky says: “With every new album, we love to experiment and dip out toes into new territory, but there’s also a lot of elements here that are reminiscent of the earlier days. You can expect a lot of hard hitting, fast=paced madness and many many blast beats!”

 It’s safe to say that The Agonist are back in top shape and ready to take the metal community by storm with “Orphans” (out September 20). Check out the video at the link below, and pre-order the album at this link.

“Orphans” tracklist:


In vertigo

As one we survive

The gift of silence

Blood as my guide

Mr. Cold

Dust to dust

A devil made me do it

The killing of I


Burn it all down






By Andrea



Vicky Psarakis – Vocals

Danny Marino – Guitar

Chris Kells – Bass

Simon McKay – Drums

Pascal "Paco" Jobin – Guitar

Write a comment

Comments: 0