At The Gates - To Drink From The Night Itself



Century Media Records

Release: May 18, 2018


At The Gates are innovators. From debut album, ‘’The Red In The Sky Is Ours’’, through comeback stunner, ‘’At War With Reality’’, the Gothenburg-based death metal act have always traversed the left-hand path on their own terms. In the ‘90s, At The Gates spearheaded The New Wave of Swedish Death Metal. When At The Gates returned in 2008, a full 12 years after they disbanded, their return was celebrated and the follow-up to ‘’Slaughter Of The Soul’’. Now, four years after ‘’At War with Reality’’, the Swedes are ready to show their indomitable spirit, ceaseless ingenuity, and raw power on new album, ‘’To Drink From The Night Itself’’ which will be released through Century Media Records on May 18, 2018.


Conceptually, To Drink From The Night Itself originated with German writer Peter Weiss and his novel, The Aesthetics Of Resistance. The idea was to capture the desperation of a struggle or resistance, where victory is unachievable yet the fight presses on. Lindberg also was enlivened by Weiss’ discussion of art - all forms - via his characters and its various uses, either as a weapon of oppression or as a signal of opposition. As witnessed throughout history, art has been and will be labeled unfairly decadent or ridiculously triumphant or secretly obstructionist.




01. Der Widerstand

02. To Drink From The Night Itself

03. A Stare Bound In Stone

04. Palace Of Lepers

05. Daggers Of Black Haze

06. The Chasm

07. In Nameless Sleep

08. The Colours Of The Beas

09. A Labyrinth Of Tombs

10. Seas Of Starvation

11. In Death They Shall Burn

12. The Mirror Black



We’re not a political band, but it’s a very left-wing book,” Lindberg affirms. “Basically, this book is a real brick. Well over 1,000 pages. No chapters, just words and more words. He goes through the whole history of the Resistance in Europe during the ‘30s and ‘40s on different levels. His main characters are these art students, typical left-wing people. There’s discussion about art and how it can be used as a tool for oppression or revolution or resistance. I’m very intrigued by the whole essence of it. ‘’To Drink From The Night Itself’’, for me, stands for that. To live through art. Make it mean something. Not to look back. Just make art. Our art means a lot to us. It’s the reason why we get up in the morning. So, we drink from the night itself. And I think our fans do too. The night is a metaphor for the essence of pure art.” ‘’To Drink From The Night Itself’’ was recorded at three studios. The vocals were captured by Per Stålberg and Olle Björk at Welfare Studios in Gothenburg over a three-week period, while the rest of the music were recorded by producer Russ Russell at Parlour Recording Studios in the UK over a two-week session. The entire effort was produced by Jonas (Björler), Lindberg, and Russell over three weeks, with Russell taking an additional two weeks to mix and master.

“We had a clear vision where we wanted to take the album musically,” says Lindberg. “We wanted strong metal songs. We’re all fans of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal and old school metal in general. We wanted to take that into the death metal genre, our home turf, so to say, made grittier, more brutal. We also wanted to take the progressive elements of the band and make them into good, solid, songs. We didn’t want them to be hard to listen to but rather easy, as part of a good song. Russ understands all that. He understands where we come from. I mean, if we told him we wanted a really brutal sound, that’s what we’d get from Russ. He wouldn’t try to over-produce it, to make it cleaner. He’s got a lot of heart and energy. It was a real pleasure working with him. The sessions were straight forward. We went in with the idea to make a brutal if dynamic death metal record and that’s what we ended up with.”


The album will also be available as limited Mediabook 2CD with a 5-track bonus CD featuring alternate versions of album songs including appearances by the following guest vocalists: Rob Miller (Amebix, Tau Cross), Per Boder (God Macabre) and Mikael Nox Pettersson (Craft).

From my point of view, ‘’To Drink From The Night Itself’’ is an album with character. It is in essentially a concept album, based on a book as stated earlier in this article, but I found it rather difficult to get in to, while Swedish Death Metal is usually my thing. After a few listening sessions, I am still not entirely sure how I really feel about it. All the songs sound somewhat the same, they have the same kind of atmosphere to them but in the right amount, so you can hear they are meant to be listened right after another. They tell an interesting, amusing and cohesive story in all of the songs, and that's why it keeps my attention. It’s a good album, but not amazingly awesome. I’d rate ‘’To Drink From The Night Itself’’ by At The Gates a 7 out of 10.


For More Info Visit:


By Tamar




Tomas Lindberg - Vocals

Martin Larsson - Guitars

Jonas Stålhammar - Guitars

Jonas Björler - Bass

Adrian Erlandsson - Drums