Redemption - Long Night's Journey Into Day



Metal Blade Records

Released: July 27, 2018


For a band that just replaced long-time vocalist Ray Alder with Swedish crooner Tom Englund (Evergrey), progressive metal outfit Redemption seem to be firing on all cylinders. The addition of Vikram Shankar’s keyboards skills didn’t hurt the formula, if anything it actually enhanced and expanded the sound. “Long Night’s Journey into Day” is the band’s seventh studio album, and was released on July 27, via Metal Blade Records.


Not skipping a beat, the new offering can even be seen as a step up in the band’s sound. It’s a technically charged album, where aggressive heavy riffing is neatly combined with strong melodic vocals, and delivered with heartfelt emotion and passion. Commenting on the band’s music, guitarist / keyboardist Nick van Dyk stated that: ''If there's a consistent message to Redemption's music, it's that life is a struggle and there is pain and fear and doubt, but, ultimately, it is a thing of beauty and wonderment. If you push through the struggle, the rewards of that process itself, along with what you find on the other side, are joyous and a fantastic gift"''



Eyes you dare not meet in dreams

Someone else’s problem

The echo chamber


Indulge in color

Little men

And yet

The last of me

New Year’s day (U2 cover)

Long night’s journey into day

 And over the course of 10 well-crafted songs the band touches on highly relatable topics that deal with the struggle of everyday life, failure, human condition, while putting a positive spin on everything. Hence the title of the album – it’s a dark journey but there is light at the end of the tunnel, there is hope that everything will be fine in the end, hope that night will eventually turn into day. As such, the track “Impermanent” is about growth, change, and adaptation, “Eyes you dare not face in dreams” deals with self-doubt, while the political “The Echo Chamber” talks about social media and its negative effect on people’s perspective.

Classy and intelligent in its delivery and concept, the album opens with the up-beat “Eyes you dare not face in dreams”, which hits the listener with heavy guitar riffs and lines, with play of off Englund’s angry vocals and Vikram’s masterful keyboard playing. “Someone else’s problem” is a definite highlight of the album, boosting a slick melody on top of vibrant guitars and energetic keyboards, though I don’t like the phrasing of the chorus very much. The album picks up pace and momentum when the heavier tracks “Impermanent” and “Little Me” kick everything into high gear. In between these two, however the moody ballad “Indulge in Color” sees Englund doing what he does best, and that is crooning his heart away.


The short but sweet “And Yet” has an Anathema feel to it, as it is light and breezy with just vocals and just the right amount of instrumental. It’s really a welcome breather in this ocean of technicality and lengthy compositions. But this is a prog album after all and such a display of musicality, as the 10 minutes closing track “Long night’s journey into day” offer, is a staple of the genre. Nick van Dyk shows his versatility and skill delivering some impressive guitar work all through the album, with excellent solos on “Eyes you dare not face in dreams” and “The last of me” and a lot of shredding in between. Speaking of “The last of me”, this song features one of Vikram’s best performances on this album, second being his synth work on “The Echo Chamber”. Still, if there is one track that feels a bit off, is their rendition of U2’s “New Year’s Day”, but I can’t put my finger and say why exactly I don’t feel it. Maybe because of the over-done instrumental. I usually like it when an artist puts its own stamp on a cover, but this feel like a miss to me.

So, if you are in the mood for top-notch prog anthems, soulful vocals that make for an emotional journey, lyrics with which you can easily connect, and intense instrumental passages, with many hefty solos, and layers rhythms, then don’t hesitate to give Redemption’s “Long Night’s Journey into Day” a spin or two. I’m sure you’ll grow to enjoy it.


Rating: 8 / 10




By Andrea




Tom Englund – vocals

Nick van Dyk – guitars

Sean Andrews – bass

Chris Quirarte – drums

Vikram Shankar – keyboards