Stryper - God Damn Evil



Frontiers Music SRL

Release: April 20, 2018


Established in southern California in 1983, multi-platinum crossover Christian metal band, Stryper, continues to share their positive message and energetic stage presence with a passionate following throughout the world. Since the band’s inception over 30 years ago, the founding members have stayed true to their deepest convictions, turning from “the ways of the world” and following their hearts instead. “In the past 34 years, we’ve evolved into what we are now,” says vocalist and guitarist Michael Sweet. “This is what we always really wanted to be. I love the progression. The story of Stryper is that of an underdog. We seem to go against the grain with everything we do, and our fans tend to be the same – They’re good hardworking people who believe in love, respect, and not conforming to the ways of the world.”


The members of Stryper have proven themselves as metal stalwarts, leaving an indelible mark on the genre with each new release. With such hits as “Calling On You,” “Free,” “Honestly,” and “Always There For You,” Stryper’s album sales now exceed over 10 million worldwide. Add to that one of the most successful Christian rock albums ever, 1986’s multi-platinum To Hell With The Devil, and the unique distinction of being the first band in history to notch two songs in MTV’s Top 10 with “Free” and “Honestly.”





1. Take It To The Cross

2. Sorry

3. Lost

4. God Damn Evil

5. You Don’t Even Know Me

6. The Valley

7. Sea Of Thieves

8. Beautiful

9. Can’t Live Without Your Love

10. Own Up

11. The Devil Doesn’t Live Here




This year will also bring Stryper back on the road, where they’ll have a chance to connect with fans, new and old. The line-up still features three of the original members, including singer songwriter Michael Sweet, his brother and drummer Robert Sweet, and guitarist Oz Fox. Recently, the group welcomed iconic bassist Perry Richardson (formerly of Firehouse), who will be joining them on tour. “We’re excited about the next season of Stryper,” says Sweet. “We have the best fans in the world and the band is at the top of its game musically and spiritually. We look forward to seeing everyone on the road." STRYPER will be headlining the first day of the Frontiers Rock Festival 5 on April 28, 2018. For more info:

Continuing a trend started with their 2013 release, “No More Hell To Pay”, Stryper’s 10th studio album, “God Damn Evil” sees the band offering up their heaviest release yet! Opening track, “Take It To The Cross” features a guest appearance from Matt Bachand (Shadows Fall, Act Of Defiance) on death growls, yes, death growls, and immediately shows you that Michael Sweet and company have zero intentions of mellowing with age. The next two tracks, “Sorry” and “Lost”, are classic Stryper anthems, but with a modern heaviness and edge that carries the band’s sound into the 21st century and beyond. The title track, as with all previous Stryper releases, proves to be an instant classic and surely will be a setlist staple on the upcoming tour cycle. While only time will tell, pound for pound, this very well and truly might be Stryper’s best album yet. As Frontiers said to Michael after he turned in the record, “How are you going to top this?”


Stryper is what I call pure classic rock and metal perfection (I mean it is their 10th album, how can this go wrong?). But every album has its flaws, but those aren’t major issues. They are mostly personal preferences, for example, I don’t like the song ‘’Take It To The Cross’’, but me saying that doesn’t make it a bad song. Anyway, ‘’Sorry’’ and ‘’Lost’’ easily make up for it. Title track ‘’God Damn Evil’’ surprises me a bit, as Stryper is a Christian metal band. Does this mean a new direction for the band? ‘’You Don’t Even Know Me’’ and ‘’The Valley’’ are tracks I enjoy, and I don’t have a bad word to say about them. It’s the same for the rest of the album, if I’m honest.

For a band that exists longer than me, their sound is very modern and fresh. And to be honest, I almost feel bad for reviewing this, because I have such big amounts of respect for artists like Stryper. Of course, ‘’God Damn Evil’’ wouldn’t be everybody's favourite, and there are always people being negative about new things. But if you would see Stryper at a festival, with the sun out and a nice cold beer in your hand, it would be amazing. ‘’God Damn Evil’’ by Stryper gets a 9 out of 10 from me!


For More Info Visit:





By Tamar




Michael Sweet - Lead Vocals + Lead Guitar

Robert Sweet - Drums + Visual Timekeeping

Perry Richardson - Bass + Vocals

Oz Fox - Guitar + Vocals