Hope - Hope



Haldern Pop Recordings

Release: 24-11-2017


Hope are in their black phase, everything around them is obscured. Every lyric and every spark of music, every photograph and every recording is drenched in black. Not the same kind of black as in new wave or gothic bands, but the unpretentious black like Portishead or Talk Talk. Hope had to live through the most painful experiences, play many unnoticed concerts and remain unlived to find the love for themselves and their music. Only this explains the dark stringency and consequence of their self-titled debut album.


Hope describes their music as dark indie pop, with touches of industrial, jazz and avantgarde. Now, I am not a professional when it comes to those kinds of music, but I like obscure and dark influenced things… I noticed that it was kind of hard to find information about this new album, and I am wondering why that is. Their line-up (except the name of the singer: Christine Borsch-Supan) was nowhere to be found. I don’t know if these things are on purpose, but they could have advertised themselves a bit more.



1. Kingdom

2. Cell

3. Raw

4. Skin

5. Glass

6. Drop Your Knives

7. Moth And Birds

8. Here Lies Love

Listening to the music, it is nice but of course this isn’t my main genre. I actually find it very hard to review this album, just because I don’t know a lot about it. The album sounds very atmospheric, like it could be used as a soundtrack for a movie. Christine Borsch-Supan voice is really beautiful and fits the instrumentals very well. I’d rate Hope by Hope a 6 out of 10.


For More Info Visit:




By Tamar