Superscream - The Engine Cries



Send The Wood Music

Release: 5/5/2017


Superscream is a progressive metal group, composed of five French musicians. Their main influences are Dream Theater, Guns N’ Roses, Devin Townsend, Judas Priest, Metallica, Rammstein and many more. Their second full-length album called ‘’The Engine Cries’’ was released on May 5 this year, but the Screamers are also preparing their future live DVD. The show presented by the group brings a new dimension to their music, thanks to a new concept realized through a meaningful stage production (lights, accessories, costumes), full of things to see and hear.


I want to start of with the cover that the CD came in. I got a special promo cd, which was send to me by vocalist Eric. I don’t think that the ones that are for sale are much different, except that they have barcodes on them and such. The cover artwork is so beautiful, I like how all the different colours complement each other, and I like the style in which it was designed.



1. Cubozoas’ Gossips

2. Evil Cream

3. The Engine Cries (Superscreamrise)

4. Pandora

5. Velvet Cigarette

6. Your Necklace Of Bites

7. Ways Out

8. Where’s My Mom?

9. Metal Builders

10. Insane God

If we open the case, you see the cd, a booklet and the band picture. I like the way they stored the booklet, it is behind the waves we saw on front, they pop out. Up till now, it looks very professional and cohesive.


On to the music, we start with a nice little intro called ‘’Cubozoas’ Gossips’’, which takes only 53 seconds. It’s a good piece and fades in very well to ‘’Evil Cream’’. This is ideal for live performances I can imagine. I don’t necessarily think that Superscream is progressive metal, up till now it sounds more like rock with some metal influences, not that that is a bad thing. I like Eric’s vocals a lot, they fit in very well with the music and the atmosphere that Superscream is trying to bring across. There is more potential in his voice than he dares to show I guess, you can hear him hold the power back from time to time, let it all out next time!




Eric Pariche - Vocals

Phil Vermont - Guitars & Programming

Daniel Sminiac - Guitars

Stephane Lescarbotte - Bass

Martin Mabire - Drums

Track 3, ‘’The Engine Cries’’ is the title track of the album, and I think this is chosen very well. This song seems to combine all what I have heard up till now, it’s a good summarization of what Superscream sounds like. That said, the placing is weird and it would have been better on the end of the album. ‘’Pandora’’ seems to be a bit more melodic than the previous songs, I appreciate that. Here Eric’s voice becomes a little more powerful, but it could be more. The song itself sounds a bit spooky, and as you might know, I like spooky stuff. Big compliments to the guitarists for those guitar solos that start around 3:20!


‘’Velvet Cigarette’’ is a song that seems like a strange song in the mix. I appreciate the diversity but I don’t think it ads anything, except for the growls. ‘’Your Necklace Of Bites’’ is a power ballad, which is executed very nicely. In track 7, ‘’Ways Out’’, I can finally the more progressive side of Superscream. It is a very good track, but it took a while for the penny to drop. I think they have put WAY too many influences in the song. ‘’Where's My Mom?’’ is a bit more hard rock again, but mixed with spoken word. Again, I appreciate the diversity but I don’t think I am a big fan of it, especially with the jazz parts. ‘’Metal Builders’’ is a bit of a forgetful song for me. ‘’Insane God’’ seems to be a bit more acoustic but I love the lyrics a lot. It sounds beautiful!

All in all, Superscream has delivered a pretty solid album. Of course, you can’t like every track and that is also a matter of personal taste. I’d rate ‘’The Engine Cries’’ by Superscream a 8 out of 10.


By Tamar